Quest For Perfectionism

Finding balance is a big inspiration for this blog. I have had difficulty with this in the past, and of course it’s always an evolving journey. 🙂

If you think about it, so many things lead back to balance. In relationships, love, friendships, work and of course health. The latter has been especially ‘interesting’ to say the least. With any health challenges that arise, it’s best to try to stay open, present and compassionate with yourself. With RA and now supposedly Crohn’s…my wellness journey has definitely been a learning experience inside and out.

I have come to discover that the food I eat GREATLY effects how I feel. I have (safely and wisely) tried many things: gluten free, dairy free, vegan, and now raw (especially raw dairy). I will continue to experiment and learn, because I am determined to be completely free of all pain! I am feeling so great and have come such a long way…

That being said, it can be tough to stay balanced when you’re continuously needing to change your diet. You can have this, but not that…etc. etc. There’s one thing I am learning now more than ever. And that is:

I am not on a quest for perfectionism…

I can’t let fear fuel me or fuel the food I do/don’t eat. I know what I need to eat to feel good – but sometimes, you just gotta enjoy life. So, this is where the balance comes into play. And this is where being present and connecting with your intuition is important. I try to ask my body and listen in. Sometimes, it’s just not the right day for my favorite: a chocolate chip cookie. Sometimes, it’s definitely the right time! No need to spend your energy stressin on whether a food is ‘bad’ for you or not. Just make a heart-based decision, and stick with it. Then, let go.

The quest for perfect nutrition teaches us an important lesson: Nourishment is not just about “nutrition.” Nourishment is the nutrients in the food, the taste, the aroma, the ambiance of the room, the conversation at the table, the love and inspiration in the cooking, and the joy of the entire eating experience. {source}

We can get so caught up in the focus of WHAT to eat, that we forget about the experience. I don’t know about you, but I truly fell in love with food when I learned to cook. It was the: ritual, the company, the excitement of doing something new ~ it’s all part of the path to NOURISHMENT.

I truly believe we are what we eat (as in, the quality of food). But, I also believe we become the energy we consume. So, the next time you’re eating, see if you can bring a smile to your face or gratitude to the meal you’re enjoying. Shift into this positive perspective, and you’ll super-charge your whole-health plan!

I hope you experience some amazing, nourishing moments in your week!

Would love to hear your comments ~ what are your favorite nourishing moments?

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Affirmation, Inspiration, Optimal Health, Quotes
4 comments on “Quest For Perfectionism
  1. Marina says:

    I really love your blog! Such valuable info and I’m grateful for your perspective and gentle reminders. 🙂

    So, my nourishing moments involve making the foods of my childhood for my kids. Luckily, I was brought up on whole, fresh foods, and brining those smells and tastes back into my kitchen for my babies to enjoy makes me feel so fulfilled.

  2. Mommy says:

    Great and supportive nourishing info

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote
