10,000 Hour Rule: Don’t Give Up!

After a solid week into 2013, listening to Macklemore’s “Ten Thousand Hours” reminded me not to fall back into old habits. It also reminded me of how much I want to turn my dreams into reality…

In “Ten Thousand Hours,” Macklemore pulls from Malcolm Gladwell’s book ‘Outliers;’ which is based on the “10,000 hour rule” and the idea that we need 10,000 hours of experience in anything before mastering it.”

I know what you’re thinking though, “but it’s only been a week…” Well, sometimes that’s all it takes to self-sabotage. Trust me. I know. For me, it was eating something that really doesn’t serve me well. And guess what happened? I felt it big time. But, it’s important to not beat yourself up!

The greats weren’t great because at birth they could paint…The greats were great cause they paint a lot.

Hearing this song today was such a great little reminder to: stop, listen-inward, check in with myself and come back to my intentions. I set pretty hefty goals for myself and I’m thankful for this message to KEEP AT IT. Everyday. Even if it’s a teeny-tiny step, it counts. It’s momentum… and it’s momentum in the right direction!

NYE resolutions and goals are great and all… But, as my friend Mastin Kipp says, “it’s not the goal thats important, it’s when the goal becomes actionable…” So, I ask…

  • Where are you at with your daily routines/work/personal life?
  • How do you feel?
  • Have you checked back in with your goals and intentions you set?
  • What steps have you taken to turn your intention into an actionable goal?

This is also a good time to mention the emphasis we put on “doing.” We set goals and we take ACTION, which is doing. But, what about the “be-ing?” If you wished for more peace within (like myself) then running around ‘doing’ things might cause more harm than good. Finding peace within (for example) also takes some chilling out and be-ing present. You could try a lunch break/mini-meditation where you breathe in “asking for more peace within.” Although it’s tough to do, we must try and remember to dance between the ‘doing’ and the ‘be-ing’.

This is dedication… A life lived for art is never a life wasted.

I’m rooting for you. We’re all artists! I know anything is possible in this world and it’s yours to create! Dream big. And keep at it!

BIG love…

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Inspiration, Meditation, Quotes
2 comments on “10,000 Hour Rule: Don’t Give Up!
  1. Joanne Cobble says:

    Xo. Thank you!

  2. Erin says:

    So true and a great reminder I seem to need right now!
    Thank you for your truth and inspiration!
    xoxox
    Erin

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

heart path quote
