The Four Agreements: Don’t Take Anything Personally

The Four Agreements is a wonderful, spiritual, self-improvement read. It’s a special book and one of my favorites. Actually, it was given to me by my now husband (magically, when I truly needed it most).

That’s the thing about him… (well, that’s a whole other post)

For those of you who are wondering, The Four Agreements are:

  1. Be Impeccable With Your Word
  2. Don’t Take Anything Personally
  3. Don’t Make Assumptions
  4. Always Do Your Best

At first glance, it seems too simple. I think I remember my rebellious young-self saying something like, “Easy. I got that.” But there is so much more to it than ya think. It gets real juicy.

At that point in my life, I could have written “The How-To (not live within these agreements) Guide”. But, something inside me said I wanted to try to understand the principals.  If it was coming from such a great source, there had to be more to this book than meets the eye, right?

The book was given to me years ago, but since then – I bought The Four Agreements: 48 card deck. They’re great coffee table decor, and fun to read as part of your daily routine. This morning, I needed a little refresher (and reminder!).

I happened to pull one of my favorite cards:
20121217-162747.jpg

 

Flip it over and the message reads:

 

What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won’t be the victim of needless suffering.

 

Although those four powerful agreements seem simple, the magic happens with: awareness; the light bulb goes on – you start to see the examples and lessons. You adopt an agreement, and before you know it, the slightest shift in your thoughts ~ effects your words, actions…everything! It starts to make a whole-lotta sense. This was the beginning for me, realizing my own thoughts were polluting my brain and body. Because it’s not what others say that can harm us, it’s whether we allow it to or not. It’s how we digest it.

We have a choice. We can either be prisoners of our own mind, or we can be self-reflecting, balanced ~ beautiful creators!

Learning that has been so transformative!

I hope this has helped you in someway. If I could go back to that confused girl I used to be, I would reassure her, “Do the work. It’s all gonna work out!” I am so grateful to have been exposed to this book and many others ~ it’s been an incredible (and healing) experience.

You can check out my reading list on the Resources page.

Have a wonderful day!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Affirmation, Inspiration, Quotes
One comment on “The Four Agreements: Don’t Take Anything Personally
  1. the Gunslinger Poet says:

    thank you for sharing!

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote
