Turning 30

Yup! I’m turning 30!

People say your 20’s and 30’s are about finding yourself. As I turn 30, I reflect on not just this year but even this past decade. It’s a closing of my 20’s ~ so many crazy chapters. And an opening of a whole new layer of self.

I spent most of my 20’s getting into trouble and lets face it: I was really lost and confused. I was unhappy! This was for many reasons. But at about 25, I wised up a bit. After hitting another all-time low, I had fractured my ankle…and among other things, alcohol was the main culprit. It was then that I decided to quit drinking. There was no epiphany (yet) or really any deep thought behind this. It was one of those divine interventions ~ my intuition said, “this needs to stop!”

During this time, there were so many synchronicities and factors which led me down this {new path} of healing and recovery. But, I can remember a specific moment where I knew everything was changing for me. It was during a vacation (with my now-husband) where I had finally – for the first time ever – stopped. Put all the breaks on in life and just stopped. We were in a tropical, middle-of-nowhere type of place and for the first time ever: deep self-reflection began to set in. Everything I had been ignoring and trying to cover with escapism tactics started filtering through. It was the first time I had felt a deep awareness. It was a combination of (sobering up!) slowing down, finding quietude/stillness and being in nature. This is when I felt God or ‘the Universe’ and all its magic for the first time. To this day, I’ll still never forget that feeling in my body (and mind).

I also felt happiness for the first time. Or, at least I must have had to relearn what ‘happiness’ meant….what it felt like. I felt a sense of balance. I knew I wanted more of this! I promised myself I would learn more and seek it out. This is where the true journey began. From years 25 to 30, it’s been one heck of a ride…

I found yoga, meditation, teachers and counselors which have helped along the way…

I completed a 50-mile bike race in Mexico and overcame my ‘UPPER LIMIT‘ fear of running (arthritis won’t stop me!). I visited Thich Nhat Hanh’s monastery ~ prayed and walked in meditation with all of the other guests and residential monks.

I learned about ‘food as medicine‘ and discovered how we have the power to heal ourselves through nutrition and other various modalities.

I found that there is serious healing in being alone…listening, learning and developing your intuition. I learned how to love myself completely and wholly. (another great post, coming soon!)

I truly began to understand how this is our life to make. I learned that ultimately, we choose where we want to go and how we want to live. We choose what we create in life. We also choose what we don’t create (or attract).

I learned “the longest journey we make in life is from our head to our heart.”

Because these past 5 years have been really tough so transformative…. I am only that much more excited as I grow older. I am grateful I’ve been able to see & experience the lessons and grow with them.

I can only imagine what the future holds! For now, I’m just gonna celebrate getting this far and being this happy @ 30.

My plans include Portland, lots of sleep, yoga and delicious food ya’ll!
Smiley

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Affirmation, Inspiration, Optimal Health, Quotes
2 comments on “Turning 30
  1. Joanne Cobble says:

    Like I have said before, I hope you are printing these posts. Would make a great book! xo

  2. Sura says:

    What a lovely blog post. Thank you for sharing your insight and wisdom!! Happy happy birthday Alexis. You’re a beautiful spirit and beacon of light. Such a generous heart, too.

    Hope you enjoy Portland immensely. Love to you and Skip!

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote
