Vega Performance Protein Smoothie

I first heard about Vega during my training @ Whole Foods. Out of all the amazing nutrition options, Vega really stood out. Backed and formulated by Brendan Brazier (Professional Ironman Triathlete) – packed with natural, plant-based protein and being dairy/gluten/soy free ~ it’s an outstanding product.

“I formulated Vega using the highest quality, least processed, plant-based superfoods available. Armed with Vega, you will no longer need to compromise between whole food goodness and fast food convenience. To me, Vega is a way of life. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.” ~ Brendan Brazier

Let’s check out the Performance Protein. Here’s what you’ll find on the ingredient label:

20121121-111231.jpg
(Proteins): savi-seed, yellow pea, sprouted whole grain brown rice, hemp, alfalfa… + branched chain amino acid complex, L-Glutamine, and a digestive enzyme blend.

In the VegaOne Nutritional Shakes, you’ll find plant proteins and impressive extras like: omegas, antioxidants, probiotics, greens, vitamins/minerals, maca, chlorella…and digestive enzymes.

NO, they didn’t leave anything out! I love the Nutritional Shakes because it’s your one-stop-shop. I am used to adding my maca and greens (live or powder) to my shakes. But, with this product ~ everything is literally already in there. These shakes tend to be a bit chalky so I do drink more of the Performance Protein.

I’ve been using the Performance Protein in my smoothie recipes for about two months now and I love it! Muscle repair is super important for me. I can tend to get achy pretty fast if I don’t replenish my system after a hard workout. This is especially true, after a Hot Yoga class. But, I also love to start my day with these smoothies because I feel full, nourished and energized till lunchtime.

Check it out!
20121121-111448.jpg
20121121-111515.jpg

Vega Performance Protein – Blueberry Smoothie:

  • 1 cup of almond milk (or any other nondairy delight)
  • Handful of ice
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 c blueberries
  • 1-2 handfuls of greens (kale, lettuce, spinach)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon (my secret weapon ~ more on than in a future post!)

Slurp & enjoy!

Next up: I’d love to try their Recovery Accelerator!

Cheers to your beautiful health, inside and out.

Smiley

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Food As Medicine, Inspiration, Optimal Health, Physical Activity, Recipes
3 comments on “Vega Performance Protein Smoothie
  1. Joanne Cobble says:

    Wonderful! I learn something new every day!

  2. uberdish says:

    We love Vega products! Great idea of adding cinnamon, especially this time of the year. 🙂

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote
