Healthy Hearty Fall Recipe: Creamy Farro (Part 1)

I love grocery shopping. I don’t know if it’s all the food choices or just the fact that I can finally afford to cook fun recipes with exotic ingredients.

I’m just a happy camper in the grocery store. And on a day that hasn’t gone your way…a new delicious recipe can turn things around. Sometimes, that’s all ya need.

Im pretty obsessed with the magazines: Whole Living & Sunset. So when I received the November issue of WL ~ the words “Healthy Seasonal Delicious” literally jumped out & danced around me. I was just telling Skip I’d like to beef up my fall recipes…

Inside, I found an amazing recipe using Farro. This would be a new experience for me. This grain can get confused in various regions as spelt or barley. Call them cousins, if you will. Farro is usually cooked similarly to risotto, but actually remains crunchy when finished. Almost nutty. Not me. The Farro!!

Mostly because of my sensitivities, I rarely cook with gluten wheat. Once in awhile, if the recipe’s worth it, then I give it a go. Plus, I knew the other WL recipe I had found would pair perfectly with the Farro: yummy fresh brussels sprout avocado salad! (Brussels…..another newbie for me!)

I’m not sure if it was the wine, but this was a pretty relaxing recipe experience! While the Farro was a simmerin’ ~ I had time to peal the brussel sprout leaves (you’ll git the hang of it). But that was done pretty quickly and with the left over time, I started writing this posting. 🙂

Seasoned and ready for baking…

Golden & crisp!

Adapted from Whole Living Magazine, I did change a few things which are noted below.

It was said to serve 6. Maybe we eat a lot but it seemed to serve more like 3.

Creamy Farro with Wild Mushrooms:

  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium shallot, minced
  • 1 cup organic Farro
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 3 cups low-sodium chicken stock or veggie stock
  • Coarse salt
  • 12 ounces wild mushrooms, such as shiitake or oyster, trimmed and cut into 1/2-inch slices (I used button Crimini)
  • Red-pepper flakes
  • 1 bunch spinach (10 ounces), stemmed or Kale
  • 1/4 cup crumbled Parmesan, plus more for serving

    Directions:
    -In a medium to large saucepan, heat 2 tablespoons oil over medium heat. Add shallot and cook, stirring, until tender, about 5 minutes.-Add farro, stirring until toasted, 1 minute.-Add wine and reduce by half.

    -Add stock, bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until farro is tender and creamy, 35 to 40 minutes. Season with salt and cover to keep warm.

    -Meanwhile, heat oven to 450 degrees. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss mushrooms with remaining 2 tablespoons oil and season with salt and red-pepper flakes. Roast, stirring once, until crisp and golden, 20 to 22 minutes.

    -Warm farro over medium heat and add spinach, stirring until wilted, about 1 minute. Stir in mushrooms and Parmesan. Top with additional Parmesan.

    **Tips**
    -Chop all veggies and do all prep work ahead.
    -If you’re oven heats easily or is a new oven, your mushrooms may not need as much cooking time.
    -I added red pepper flakes to Farro (last 5 minutes of cooking) instead.

    Because this is such a large post, the Brussels Sprout Salad with Avo will be next, in Part 2.

    ♥ Happy Cooking! ♥

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Food As Medicine, Optimal Health, Recipes
2 comments on “Healthy Hearty Fall Recipe: Creamy Farro (Part 1)
  1. Marina says:

    This looks DELICIOUS!! Thanks for sharing all the goodness! xoxo

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote
