Road Trip: Sequim

Feeling fall round’ the corner, I felt antsy to get out in nature and enjoy these last sunny crisp days. I say “last” because I can only anticipate rain is on the way, as we’ve had something-like 70 days without it. A little bit of an indian summer here in Seattle. Whatever it is, I like it! ๐Ÿ™‚

I cant believe I haven’t visited the Olympic National Park yet. But, with all the traveling and our wedding ~ you can’t fit it all in. I knew I wasn’t feeling up to hiking in the Olympics but I was definitely up for something mellow. Still figuring out all this inflammation stuff, I was feeling rundown and a bit achey….even fighting off a “could-be” cold. Though, I knew a little time in nature would help.

So, I started researching – looking for nearby outdoor adventures, and realized Skip and I hadn’t been to Sequim. It’s a small town on the NE side of the Olympic National Park…and I found it by coming across the Dungeness Spit. The Dungee Spit is the longest natural spit in all the US and is part of the Dungeness National Wildlife Refuge. But, first- I’m sure you’re asking, “what the heck is a spit?” A spit is a large piece of sand revealed by water in a lower tide. Kinda like a sandbar…?
20121015-151441.jpg
Well, anyways, you can walk this incredible spit for 5.5 miles and at the end you’ll find a beautiful lighthouse. Maybe it’s the dork in me (obviously it is)…but this means walking out in the middle of the ocean for 5.5 miles on this little piece of sand strip. The spit! So neat. ๐Ÿ™‚

So, we set out to find this sand spit…and headed toward Sequim. Somewhere along the way (thank you technology!), I found out there was a farm festival. It included 6 local Sequim farms, including the Dungeness Creamery and all organic Nash’s Farm (both which I was really excited about)! I read up on both the farms and was really impressed.

We arrived to Sequim and drove straight to Nash’s Farmstore. You can call it a Farmstore but really it’s like a natural market. The produce section was huge! A cute girl who moved from Solana Beach to Sequim (wearing a Mitch’s sweatshirt!!!!), helped us around the store. There were also products from Dungeness Creamery available, along with products from other farms (lavender & honey is big there as well). This is a great spot to pack up some goodies and head out on a picnic. ๐Ÿ™‚

The Solana Beach gal also mentioned Port Angeles surfing. So, we of course needed to see it. About 25 minutes down the highway, we found little Port Angeles. We practically stumbled upon this natural food-to-go spot. So, why not?
20121014-163242.jpg
We had delicious gluten free sandwiches and an organic green veggie salad. There were lots of vegan/vegetarian options and the to-go spot had lots of healthy crackers, bars, snacks, nuts, cookies, etc. Really a neat find. We need more of these EVERYWHERE!!

Next, we headed back to Sequim…and visited the Dungeness Creamery & finally the Dungee spit…
20121015-141948.jpg
The creamery had a great farmstore, full of their raw milk products…
20121015-153124.jpg

20121015-142220.jpg
I’ll have to post later on my experimentation with Raw Milk and it’s benefits. I have been blown away by my bodies positive reactions towards this.

20121015-151823.jpg

Sequim isn’t very big, so finding your way around is easy. The creamery is literally 5 minutes from the Dungeness Spit. After entering the park, there’s a large parking lot and plenty of signage & tourist info. Getting to the actual spit requires some trail walking…

20121015-151919.jpg
It’s a quick jot through the forrest and you arrive at some pretty spectacular scenery…
Out there on the spit, it’s a trip because you’re literally facing and looking at Canada. It’s pretty much the ocean border, and you can see Victoria!
There is also major wildlife to spy; over 250 various bird species & 41 species of land mammals!

20121015-152418.jpg
Heading back to the car, we spotted some garbage decomp info. Good to know!!
20121015-152757.jpg
Super fun trip and a great way to clear your head. To stop the daily “go, go, go” and take a beat. A short distance from Bainbridge Island…and would be great to turn into a weekend getaway, I’m sure. Maybe that’ll be next on the list ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’ll leave you with a tid bit more info…

FUN FACT about Sequim:
“Sequim lies within the rainshadow of the Olympic Mountains and receives on average less than 15 inches (380 mm) of rain per yearโ€”about the same as Los Angeles, California.” (Wikipedia)

Until the next time….lots of love to nature & lots of love to you ♥

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Farm to Table, Inspiration, Optimal Health, Physical Activity

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote