Cafe Gratitude: Cucumber Melon Gazpacho

While visiting LA a couple weeks ago, I was excited to stop into the new Venice ~ Cafe Gratitude. I can’t say enough about the amazing creations @ this restaurant. And that’s what they are: art!…beautiful, thoughtful, vegan items that you just can’t help but feel healthier after experiencing. The whole restaurant is just that too…an experience.
20121007-144653.jpg
Inside, you can pick up their super popular cook book, house-made flax crackers, posh hippie “Love” glass bottles and much more. I want to try all of their juices, smoothies, salads, entrees….DESSERTS ~ all made with veggie love. I think it’s an amazing effort and an inspiration for healthy foodies.
20121007-145240.jpg
I ordered the “I Am Adventurous” a delicious gazpacho made with cucumber and melon. I tried to eat (or slurp) slowly, but I cleaned the bowl pretty quickly. Trust me. Its.That.Good.

I also ordered the “I Am Fortified” which is a delicious grain bowl filled with brown rice or quinoa, fresh veggies + kale + yummy sauce of choice. (I had the sesame-ginger which was out of this world!) This was really satisfying and clean.
20121007-144604.jpg
Repeat this experience a couple more times (add in my seriously tasty date/maca smoothie) and you’ll have the highlight of my LA trip. Cafe Gratitude.
(check out the adorable to-go boxes)
20121007-144745.jpg
20121007-175003.jpg

Back home, island livin this week…I felt a gazpacho craving creepin up outta nowhere! I decided to recreate the chilled soup with a little bit of my personal flavor ~ this is what I came up with:

20121007-144209.jpg

I love that this recipe is quick, simple and clean. Not to mention mmmmmm 😉

Throw your chopped items in da blender and give it a whirl.

20121007-144347.jpg
I think you’ll be delighted!

20121007-144425.jpg

       Cucumber Melon Gazpacho:

  • 1 cucumber, peeled & chopped
  • 1 cup of honeydew melon, chopped
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • 4+ mint leaves (depending on your desired flavor)
  • drizzle of organic extra virgin olive oil
  • pinch of sea salt

Enjoy ~ with lots of love,
Alexis

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Cleanse, Farm to Table, Food As Medicine, Optimal Health, Recipes
3 comments on “Cafe Gratitude: Cucumber Melon Gazpacho
  1. Joanne Cobble says:

    Looks amazing! Thank you for sharing your experience and recipe.

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Erin says:

    Sounds yummy! I’ll call you soon-I know its been too long:( xoxo

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote
