Indulging…the healthy way! (Crab Endive)

Good afternoon y’all-

Skip is sick, it’s raining and it’s my day off……perfect timing to cook up some delicious things! I’ve been craving some not so healthy items this week. With the wedding coming up – I’ve really been trying to keep it clean.

If you know me though, I don’t believe in depriving oneself.

So, I’ll indulge!…….and do it the healthy way at home 😉

We’ve been searching for wedding appetizers…you know, a tiny bite with pizzazz. I saw Giada De Laurentiis do a crab endive salad and was inspired. I tweaked it a lil to our liking:

The goodies:
-Crab
-Endive
-Apple cider vinegar
-EVOO
-Dijon Mustard
-Lemon
-Avo
-S&P

20120626-152130.jpg

Add all your wet ingredients & wisk…

20120626-152244.jpg

Hold that thought. I’m starring at the fresh baguette on my counter. Well, its starring at me. I have an extra large box of basil and I realize I need to make a pesto crostini. But of course. 😉

Although I don’t usually eat gluten ~ remember, this is an “I’m indulging” post.

Now, then. For the pesto: throw in some basil, pine nuts or walnuts in my case…add the EVOO & spin. I add in avocado for a creamier pesto. MMMmm.

20120626-152859.jpg

Its crazy up in this biatch.

Ok, slice up your baguette. Brush it with EVOO & toast in the oven for a few.

20120626-153309.jpg

Go back to your crab dressing…give it a wisk. Add your crab into the mix and gently toss. I can’t help but add avo here – look! So gorgeous!!

20120626-153558.jpg

20120626-153619.jpg

Spoon the crab mix into your cute little endive boats.

Dress your crostini & why not top em’ off with a little feta?

20120626-153851.jpg

These are definitely contenders! Crisp, light, fresh & totally satisfying.

Cozying up for a movie. Hearts & tummy’s are full!

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Food As Medicine, Inspiration, Optimal Health, Recipes

Leave me a comment or any other helpful info!

Hello! Thank you for stopping by. We are all things health and happiness here. This is a life meant to be lived! And we want to THRIVE! Sign up below for our weekly wellness warrior posts!

Enter your email address to subscribe ~ I'll send you new inspirational posts via email.

Join 273 other followers

You can also find me on Duct Tape and Bubblegum as their resident Mind-Body expert and contributor!
heart path quote
